Iceberg in Albany

When I woke up this morning–or rather forced myself out of the bed I was sleeping on–the sun to the east was putting a really invigorating burst of light right across the room I was in. An old off-white radiator at my friend’s house turned a golden shade. It was the perfect thing to step out on to on new day in a new year.

Outside, few people were out and about. The city is frozen and covered with powdery snow that is picked up now and again and deposited where your coat or scarf don’t cover, the neck and the ears. I’d estimate it is 10-f degrees before the wind blows.

When I got back to my place, I took my dog out for a walk. I made sure the Albany Police officer in his Dodge Durango passed us by before I let my dog feel comfortable to relieve himself on the snow-covered sidewalk. He was looking right at me, perhaps waiting for that moment to write a ticket. On the other hand, he could have just been feeling sorry for the lone schmuck out on the street with his dog in frigid weather. Normally, I bring a bag, but recently when I got to the supermarket, I bring my reusables for the discount and I couldn’t find any newspaper to wrap it in. The walk was painful. My sinuses really hurt from it.

When all was said and done, 2008 was certainly a good year for me. I lost nearly 20 pounds–on top of nearly 20 in 2007–and took thousands of photographs.

Although I want to say that I don’t have resolutions that begin on January 1, I suppose I do. They’re in my head though. I don’t want to let anyone know. But they’re reasonable goals, I think. Anyway, I’m off to the gym, which will doubtless be filled with people working off last night’s booze and snacks. Gyms are always tough this time of years.
Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

