Seemingly stuck at 188 – And I think I know why

The unanimous opinion in the fitness community seems to be that you should not weigh yourself every day when you are in the midst of a diet or weight loss plan. It makes sense that the daily scale reading would be somewhat unreliable for an overall picture because based on a number of factors ranging from the amount of food in your stomach or water in your bladder to your unique hormonal make up, your body mass can fluctuate from day to day. Still, I weigh myself each day, keeping track of the amount of miles I walk or run, how I eat and how I handle negative or challenging thoughts and situations throughout the day. I don’t buy into the whole don’t-weigh-yourself-each-day scenario. I weigh myself to make sure I’m not outside of what I consider an unacceptable weight for more than a day or two. The way I figure, if I can catch myself gaining a pound, I can prevent myself from gaining back the thirty that I’ve taken off in the last two years.

Still, I seem to be stuck at 188. When I say that I seem to be stuck there, let me just admit that I know a big reason why I’m there and have failed to take off 20 lbs. since January (though I have taken off 12). I’m stuck there because I haven’t gone the additional steps I should be going to cut out certain destructive eating habits and because of that I’m somewhat glued to 188. I would like to get down below 180 to 175, but to do that I obviously have to make some lifestyle changes.

All of the changes that I must make to be successful have less to do with the enjoyment of food than with other things going on in my life. For example, eating late at night was a huge cause of my weight gain over a period of several years. When I cut down what I ate past 8 p.m. to apples and other low-calorie foods, the weight seemed to come off. Now, that I’ve reached a more comfortable weight of 188, I am back to eating at night. Sure, I may run a hell of a lot more than I did, but that means nothing if I’m eating when the sky is dark and I am closer to bed than I am to being physically active. The second habit I could do to break again is snacking on sweet stuff. Doing that caused me to gain weight, cutting back caused me to lose weight. Now that I’m doing it again (though less), I’m stuck.

These two factors explain a lot about why I have been stuck at 188 for some time. But knowledge alone will do very little so long as I don’t address the underlying reason for late night eating or grabbing a package of M&Ms when I could make due with an orange: I’m doing these things to feel better because I’m stressed, depressed or anxious.

I know now what causes late night binges on food. It’s a feeling of being sad or unfulfilled. Granted, binging for me nowaday is not what it was in the past, but it is still most certainly binging. When you have a snack you don’t need or two bowls of cereal at 11 p.m., that’s binging. Binging is from avoiding how you feel. Sometimes, it seems in the world that there is no one better at avoiding personal conflict than me.

Address the problems, and the need for food as a painkiller will subside. When I’ve been at my best mentally, the weight has melted off. When not, it’s either gone up or stayed the same. There’s much I can do, but I must get started right away…As in now.

One Response

  1. I agree totally – I’m still bobbing up and down myself, and even when it’s dead balanced (albeit precariously) at a reasonable weight, I still find myself having cereal at night or a large slice of something where a small one would do if it’s hunger genuinely! But I’m not sure it’s always emotional stuff; sometimes I can’t distinguish ‘tired’ from ‘hungry’. And I find that having something really interesting to do seems to work for me too.

Leave a Reply

