How do you like my anxiety-riddled brain?

Really now, I’m too tired to get into the whole history of my cross, a neurological glitch called Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

It’s been about 15 years or so since the symptoms began; extreme doubt, fixation, panic, worry and fatigue.

What came upon me was mysterious. I was 12-years-old, and a storm of hormones and stress; oily skin, tiredness and an intense interest in sex. I began to count things, say little slogans in my head and walk in strange pattern around the house. Why? To avoid something bad happening, whatever it might be.

I’ll write more about it when I can put my thoughts together. I think that it would be somewhat cathartic to be able to recall my history with a menal illness, however mild it may be, for certainly is it nothing as pernicious as the myriad thought and mood disorders that many people have.

The photograph above is of my brain. It was taken in September 2006 by the staff of Columbia-Presbyterian’s neurology department for a study on genetics and anxiety disorders (I also have panic attacks and a very specific phobia which I’d really rather not get into right now).

Anyway, in addition to writing more about my running, I plan on doing so a little bit more for my anxiety. I hope you like the photo of my brain. I kinda do, although it causes me some problems.

Leave a Reply

