Whether it's 1959, 2007, 1998 or 1989, high school bullying is always the same

A part of me really cringes when I watch this video. I was never bullied in high school, nor was I a bully, but I certainly witnessed my fair share of it. I graduated in 1998, which was the year of the high school shooting. Incidents in Mississippi, Kentucky and Oregon captured national attention, although nothing like what would overshadow them a year later, when in 1999, Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris gunned down more than a dozen people at their school in the Denver area. Bullying seemed to be behind the shootings.

I wonder if this kid ever wanted to shoot anyone:

He’s the subject of a random youtube video from 1989.

I’m not sure where the video was shot, although I’m certain it was an urban school, possibly on the East Coast by the looks of things.

It starts out with some kids doing some moves:

I couldn’t hear what they were jiving to, but it could have been Steady-B or Public Enemy.

They even use some special effects on that neat old VHS of theirs.

I’m not sure what initiated it, but when the dancing is over, these boys head over to a study hall to taunt a fellow student, who looks to be Filipino or some type of Polynesian.

It all starts with some words and some pushing.

And taunting.

The bullying devolves into a punch.

And another one:

“I’m not gonna get up,” the Asian kid says.

“Don’t talk shit,” his tormentor demands.

Unless there was something said that we don’t see in the video, it doesn’t appear that the bullied kid says anything or provokes the attack.

Frustrated that his prey wont take the bait, the bully begins to walk away.

“Don’t mess with Blacks,” we hear someone say from off the the camera.

They taunt the Asian kid with high-pitched, broken-English: “You don’ wanna fight me?”

The bully goes back to grab the kid’s binder and throws it at him.

At the risk of sounding funny, the Asian kid is very Eastern about the whole affair, brushes it off and goes back to what he was doing before, studying with a pencil in hand.

Before the bullying segment ends, we here someone say, “Look at the face on this guy”.

Who knows what ended up happening to these kids. I suspect that one of them has posted it on the Internet as a means of showing what his younger life was like.

Certainly it took a lot of resolve for the Asian kid to sit there and say nothing–and I suspect that if he wanted to he could have laid a beating on the kid in the red shirt–but how much may that effect him now? Maybe it’s like water rolling off a stone or it has contributed to something long lasting and negative in his life. The real tragedy is that I doubt there was any real friction between these kids. Probably just boredom and the need to feel in control of others. In the end, the tormented wins, though. He’s not afraid it seems, and doesn’t let his emotion get the better part of him. I wonder where he is now?

Leave a Reply

