Well, if that's not just the happiest Bishop you've ever seen

I came across this picture today on the Internet. He’s not a real Roman Catholic bishop, but one in a splinter group called the Ecumenical Catholic Church. He rocks. 

 I’m a Catholic and will likely never leave the Church over social issues. The faith of the Church is enough for me.

I think that Catholicism is a great force in the world. It’s by no means perfect, but it’s also by no means a homogenous religion. There are so many different ways to apply the faith to the world and room for different ways to express Catholic life.

Catholicism is greatly misunderstood by  a lot of people, be them Christian fundamentalists or ultra liberal (and ultra obnoxious) people who lay blame on the Church for the poverty of the developing world.

I think I’ll stay with her though. I like being Catholic.

3 Responses

  1. http://www.remnantofgod.org/flash/whore/whore7.html

    It’s a great force allright, but a PAGAN force! Fyah bun you babylon wickedness!

    Please tell me you’re view about the link I placed. I can hardly wait to read your response!

  2. I checked the page out…*wow*, I’m so offended I can hardly pick myself up of the floor…Oh wait, I don’t care. I’m not a dickless person who gets offended at things…Particularly not from fundies.

  3. This Ecumenical Catholic BIshop that you pictured is (Most Rev.) Dr. Mark Steven Shirilau, Ph.D., who is the Archbishop and Primate over the ECC. You can see some of his theological writings in the California Supreme Court page over Prop 8. Abp. Mark is a good man and dedicated Catholic Bishop in apostolic succesion. I’ll let him know that you enjoyed his smile the next time I visit his diocese in Irvine, CA. – Take care, Father Rob Hall, Franciscans of the Holy Cross of Texas. OFCFranciscans@aol.com http://www.myspace.com/fatherrobhall

Leave a Reply

